Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,956 Posts
I'm fairly new to poodles, but I've learned a few things from the forum about researching poodles and what to look for on websites...

Here are some concerns I have about their site. They mention (once that I could find) that their dogs are health tested, but they really don't convince me of that. I couldn't find ANY full body shots of any of their breeding dogs (just really, really close head shots) so you can't see anything about conformation at all! They mention "champion bloodlines", but I've learned that's not worth the breath it takes to say it - Either they're currently showing their dogs and earning titles on them, or their breeding dogs aren't being shown or titled - but they shouldn't ride on the coat-tails of other people who may have shown and titled dogs further back in the pedigree.

I don't see anything from the website that would make me want to pursue them - but if you have the time and inclination, you could initiate personal contact with them and try to get a better feel for how they run their program (than you can from their -IMO- sorta sketchy website...)

Hope you are able to find what you are looking for!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks so much. When I saw their "breeding philosophy" link, I thought it sounded pretty good, but I'm not sophisticated enough to read between the lines. E.g., it says:

A female in our breeding program is never bred more often than every other heat. She is over two years of age before she is considered for our breeding program. A female Standard Poodle under two years of age is not mentally or physically mature enough to be bred. We do not breed a female who is over 7 years of age. A female over 7 years old may have age-related complications during whelping. Our Poodles never have more than three litters in their lifetime.

Prior to Breeding: