Poodle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started with grooming FFT between Kodi's grooming. I was a student, on a limited budget, and I hate fuzzy faces. He is also my terror to be groomed, so I did a ton of work with the clicker and the clippers to get him to stand "nicely" to be groomed!

Well last year I decided I was going to do him totally myself. I purchased a Wahl Bravura adjustable clipper. He's small enough that using combs wasn't to time consuming. Well... now I have a Standard too. And she's gotten big!! Using the combs is getting to be more of a pain the bigger she gets. The last round I felt like it took FOREVER to get her completely even. SO... I'd really like to try my hand at scissoring.... If its bad, I can always go back to the combs, right!! I don't show, they are in strictly pet cuts, and I'm really excited to start experimenting!!!

So does anyone have any suggestions on what tools I will need. I have a pair of straight sheers I use for Kodi 5 or 6in. So from what I've read not big enough for Mia. I'm trying to balance quality and price so if anyone has a specific brand they love, I'm open to any suggestions!! Now I've been using the straight scissors for their top knots too. I don't think I do that bad of a job, I've gotten compliments! But what are the advantages of curved??

If any of the more experienced groomers here have any tips or suggestions I'd be grateful!! My biggest concern, is how to keep it straight. I'm sure each time I do it I'll learn something.

·
Registered
9 Posts