Poodle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,050 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mostly just venting stress here - I'm worried and there's nothing I can do about it.

My dad's 13 year old cat is peeing blood today, and will go to the vet Thursday for tests. I call her my dad's cat, but it was MY cat until I left for university, and I have asked several times over the last 8 years to have possession of her. My mom has been babysitting her.

It's been an awful year. Last October, Dad put down his dog due to cancer. My budgie died of cancer over the winter. Mom's dog came a few minutes away from dying in a hypoglycemic seizure this summer, as I desperately called the vet as she lay unresponsive. Last month, Mom put down her cat due to failing health. Annie's recovering from kennel cough right now. Even the worm bin I have been maintaining for 7+ years died over the summer. That's 100% of our pets in one year.

It's borrowing trouble, but knowing my neglectful father, he'll refuse to give the cat any sort of daily medical care or specialized diet if required. Before I guilted my mother into babysitting her, his plan for his month long trip to Europe was to leave the cat alone in the house, and if I really wanted I could drive 6 hrs each way and check on her once or twice while he was gone. No other plan to check on her. I'm already paying for and delivering decent quality cat food, because he had switched her to the cheapest junk he could find, and she was losing vigour and her coat was dull. But yet "she's company", so I can't have the cat.

Very, very much borrowing trouble - but if she dies, then he's very likely to go out and get another dog. I've been fighting him on this for the last year because he is in poor physical health, travels a lot, doesn't train, gives dogs exercise by opening the door for them to run on his unfenced acreage, etc.