Poodle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I use to groom my dog I had before and got ok at it...enough to keep her happy and looking good. But, that dog was not a poodle. I was thinking with my new pup that I would do the shaved nose and ball tail, shave tips on the feet and let the rest be a little bit longer. From what I read this is a puppy cut.

So, what do you think? Will this work. I am not going to be showing her or anything. I just want to keep her mat free and happy....

Anybody else do their own grooming? and any advise on poodle grooming would be great..

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
*raises hand*
I groom my poodle! :) Of course, I'm a total newbie at it, but we're learning and I love it!
Shaving the face, feet, and tail are perfectly fine and something most people can learn very easily. It's good to keep up with your poodle's grooming needs. :)

Personally, the Ridgewood Standard Poodles Grooming page helped me a BUNCH in learning how to do the basics on my poodle. It's got a ton of informative, clear photos and directions. Love it! I still use it on occasion as a reference to be sure I'm doing things right lol.
Grooming the Standard Poodle
Everything you could need for the basics! :) Good luck!

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
I groom my poodles at first it was for fun ( I love the personal one on one time) and now that I am up to 5 spoos it has become a necessity,grooming bill or dinner hmmmm.....:plate::eating: well that's a no brainer the dogs must look good:beauty: ha,ha!!

·
Registered
558 Posts