Poodle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am planning on eventually having 4 (shhh don't tell hubby yet though lol)..I would like to learn how to groom them so they stay somewhat neat. They have a groomer at our vets but for 1..she isn't all that good cause I see gouges on the dogs that come out..so she doesnt blend well..but he told me she doesnt teach cause she is self taught.
We live in a very rural area of Mississippi and I am disabled so driving long distances on regular basis is out. I was looking for books or maybe video teaching thing if anyone knows of any good ones to get me started.
It may not work out though cause my hands cant do real fine movement due to neuropathy but can work with them ok long as not any tiny type work.
I will have to have their nails clipped because I can't trust my hands to not move. I personally don't like the foo foo cuts but know they are needed for showing if you want to. I like them trimmed nicely with close cuts on face and feet and around bootie for hygenic reasons myself.But thats just me :cyclops:
t

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
I got a cd with my clipper I bought and it showed the basic for shaving the face, feet and tail and what direction to shave the body. Then I went out and shaved my poodle (ELI) in my version of the continental clip. It turned out ok for my first time grooming a poodle. He got tons of attention for sure. lol