Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When Clark comes home, I wonder if I should give him a week to settle in before I start training basic commands. The breeder will start pee pad training and I will continue that immediately. I just don't know when it would be appropriate to start working on "Sit", "Stay", "Leave It," "Come", "Quiet."

·
Premium Member
3,330 Posts
I started training Noelle eye contact the day I brought her home. I played with a tug toy, took the toy away, waited for Noelle to look me in the face, and returned to playing tug. The ability to pay attention, to look you in the face when you ask, is the most valuable thing you can train your dog. Start the day you bring him home.

Check out Kikopup's puppy training videos and learn from her. They're on YouTube. Noelle wouldn't be the dog she is today without what I learned from Kikopup before I even brought my Christmas poodle home. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF26FD559887E7EA4

·
Registered
12,336 Posts
I would start straight away, but make it a game and with tiny baby steps. Don't try to teach cues at first, but encourage the behaviours - hold a treat just above the pup's nose and give it to him the instant his bottom touches the floor; hold a treat in your hand and wait for him to stop trying to get at it and look at you; call his name and run away giggling and flapping so he runs after you - lots of fun games! I think Stay is a tough one for babies who want to stay close to you, so I would leave that one or later - Wait is more useful, and easier to teach.

·
Premium Member
15,810 Posts
I too say start immediately in a playful way..............1st step is for puppy to learn it's name hahaha!

·
Registered
919 Posts