Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about learning to keep Oliver's face and feet trimmed up myself...and then taking him to a groomer for the big work.

What would I need to do this? Also, is it pretty easy to do?

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
I have no experience with poodles, but I'm sure you can both learn to groom your guys! My mom grooms our PWDs and started out never having groomed before.

I'm sure some of the materials you need are similar. She has an Oster electric clipper that she has owned for about 15 years and still works fine. You get all sorts of different clipper bits for it - I know poodles are usually shaved more closely than PWDs are. She always says good scissors are critical - they may cost a lot, but it's worth investing in at least one really good quality pair.

Other than getting the materials, it's great if you can either watch your groomer work or attend a grooming workshop. My mom learned through a combination of watching other groomers, going to workshops and reading all the articles on it. Our dogs have never been to a groomer in their lives, she does it all, and I would say they look pretty good!

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
I think thats how many of us Poodle owners started clipping on our own. I just started doing the face, feet and tail and then decided, I can do those clips too. lol

I have a video that Eli's breeder gave me and it showed how to clip a poodle in general (face, body etc). Very helpful. I just watched the video, then out to clip my Poodle. I had a harder time getting the coat the way it looked from the groomer (which I loved) on my own with out a high end dryer. When they are puppies, the look is easy to achieve. When the tight adult coat comes in, thats another story with out having a good dryer.