Poodle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Luna
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to standard poodles and have to say I'm just amazed at how she doesn't seem to walk but does this bouncy prance thing like she's got springs in her paws where her feet barely touch the ground unless she's in full run. I call her my bouncy little lamb, or tigger. Anyway, I'm used to training how to walk on a show lead but this girl is not a show dog. I've got her on a regular flat collar right now but she's needing to size up, and I'm wondering if I shouldn't try a different type of collar and possibly a harness for walks? Would a rolled leather collar be better with poodle coat? Right now she's 15 weeks and willingly walks along with the pack most of the time but I want to start doing one on one walking training with her once she gets her last set of shots in a week and we can expand on our current little route.

·
Super Moderator
2,275 Posts
I use a wide martingale collar for day time walks. I prefer the martingale to both a slip collar and a flat collar. Like a slip collar, it sits comfortably loose, looser than a flat collar, on the dog's neck unless the dog starts pulling. Then it tightens to prevent the dog from ducking his head and popping the collar off. Different from a slip collar, the rings on the martingale prevent the collar from over tightening and choking the dog.

I use a rolled leather collar to hold my guy's tags, but I don't use it for walking. I would need to over tighten it to forestall the possibility of him popping the collar off. I want the collar to be loose and comfortable.