Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a phone date with Bob from Sundance Standard Poodles tomorrow at 3:30. I need some tips on what to ask. I know from their website that they do health testing (hips, SA, PRA, and VonWillebrands), I know they participate in conformation showing, agility, obedience, hunting, retrieving, and their dogs have become guide dogs. They have a lifetime health guarantee. I need to know what else I should be asking. This is my first time picking out a breeder.

Some things I'm curious about:
- Do they temperament test?
- How do they choose what puppy will go to what buyer?
- Do they sell to people in apartments? (which is where I'll be)
- How many litters do they breed a year?

What else should I be asking?

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
Make the conversation fun, tell them to tell you about their dogs and their dogs temperments as well as the questions you have listed. I think having a conversation going is a nice way to get to know the breeder, and for the breeder to feel comfortable with you as a buyer too.

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Fluffyspoos. That's the way I'm hoping it will go. I don't want it to be some formal Q&A. I like to think I'm a good conversationalist but I know I'll be nervous because I want to make a good impression. From his emails he seems like a nice guy so I think it will be ok!

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
I was nervous when I first had a conversation with Desertreef, but she's so friendly it's hard to stay nervous for long! I think it'll go great for you! ^^

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
Ask to SEE health results (if they are not listed on the official OFA site). Ask them to scan results and send attachments. You also forgot the CERF - eye test. Must be done the year breeding took place!