Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been attempting to train belle to leave the kitchen when we are fixing food, and no begging.

She knows the "out" command as I would say, "out" and lead her out of the kitchen. Praise her when she sat in the living room, and I would go back to the kitchen.

Well, I'm having issues with getting her to STAY out of the kitchen. She has never learned "stay" I'm struggling to teach her "stay" and have been working on it for months. She for some reason just will not comprehend that "Stay" means STAY! lol! I think I struggle more with stay because she is so hyper.

Anyway, when I catch her begging I firmly say, "No!" and say, "Out!" shooing her away from the person eating.

What she often does, is she will leave as to say, "Ok I listened." then shortly after she returns to resume her begging.

So what am I doing wrong here? i've been doing this training for several months and I the only accomplishment I see here is that now she knows what "out" means.

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
Can you put up a baby gate blocking off the kitchen when you are eating so that when you are done you can give her a bunch of praise for staying out? That's how we trained Harry to stay out of the kitchen when we eat.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can you put up a baby gate blocking off the kitchen when you are eating so that when you are done you can give her a bunch of praise for staying out? That's how we trained Harry to stay out of the kitchen when we eat.
No because there's 2 different entrances to the kitchen and one would work perfect for a baby gate, but he 2nd one has such a large doorway that literally no baby gate fits there. Otherwise I'd have done that to begin with lol.

Also not everyone eats in the kitchen, they often go into the living room to eat and that's where she starts to beg again.

·
Registered
2,645 Posts