Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I first of all need to say Hi to everyone on this Forum for Poodles. Standards In my case. I am new to this site, And my first question to you all is can you spay before first heat and would It hamper growth? This Is just one of many questions that I will have for I am new to the Standard poodles. I am getting my first one this weekend. Im so excited and want to learn all that I can. Voosch

·
Registered
419 Posts
Welcome to the forum! And congratulations on the new puppy. I also have a standard puppy. My vet recommends spaying before the first heat, so she was spayed at 7 months. We're in touch with a family who has two of her sisters and their vet recommends the same thing. Coincidentally, they were all spayed on the same day.

Be sure to post pictures when you get your new puppy. We LOVE pictures around here.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Standard Spaying

Thank You so much for your reply back to my question on spaying before 1st heat cycle. I will definately try and post pictures of her when I get her.
Thanks Again
Voosch

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
oh yes, I can't wait to see pictures too!!

I honstely can't recall ever hearing anything that says you cannot spay before the first heat cycle. Most vets do it routinely and alot of shelters spay as early as 10 - 12 weeks I believe. I'm a wait until they are at least 4 months old kind of person myself but I think that come from having owned small dogs in the past and being worried about their ability to tolerate being sedated for surgry.

·
Registered
912 Posts
When I was a vet nurse we spayed/neutered pretty much everything at 6 months with no adverse side effects. You will greatly reduce her risks of pyometra, mammary tumours and other reproductive maladies. This is my opinion only, there may be others who are all for late de***ing.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Re Spaying