Poodle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10,522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The best part of this trial is I have lots of friends here to share the misery. Sorry this is long, but for people who don't compete in nose work I wanted to explain what is going on.

I have never seen anything like this - but I'm fairly new to competing. This is an AKC Scentwork Trial.

This trial has 4 levels of difficulty - Novice, Advanced, Excellent and Master. We're Novice and our first AKC Scentwork trial.

The Odor Search Divisions are - Containers, Interior, Exterior, Buried and they had Handler Discrimination (handler scents an item and it's put in a box and the dog has to find that box). We were entered in Containers and Interior.

Containers is in a separate building where they have a very smelly gasoline spill (made my stomach turn when we were in there). Exterior is outside the huge agility/crating building on the opposite side. Interior is in the agility/crating building at the front past a warren's den of storage rooms. The buried containers were inside but near the exit to Exterior and I don't know where Handler Discrimination was located. In addition, and unrelated to our scentwork trial there is a huge two day agility seminar going on in a large chunk of the building.

I mention all this because it's complicated - a 4 ring circus. Which is what we all expected. This is how nose work is - you expect it to be different hidden locations so you don't know where the scents are hidden. We train in different places.