Poodle Forum banner

Wanting pictures of the Scandinavian puppy lion clip

9K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Sapphire-Light 
#1 ·
I plan on attempting this on Sagan somewhat this week...I'm going to start shaping the clip on him and hopefully he will grow into it nicely.

I've never done this before..so any advice would be helpful and especially pictures. I've found a few but haven't found any at a straight on angle most are angled down towards the dog so it can look distorted when trying to use it as a guide to go by.

Also for some reason photos of white dogs are easier to judge than black dogs.

I plan on kind of cheating and squaring off his rear with a guard comb but a little unsure of what length to use. He's only just about 4 months old.

I'll be sure to post pics once I'm finished..depending on how badly i mess it up :)

#3 · (Edited)
there's a few on groomers.net too, namely I'm using THIS link as reference at the moment as I plan Paris' scandinavian puppy lion trim, as well as creating another felt poodle in that trim too. lol!

I can't use snap on combs on paris' rear very well though, she has seriously pointy hip bones that I scissor it and take it nearly to the skin on the hip bones so that the rest is levelled out as short as possible! lol. The top of her rear (apart from her hip bones) is probably a little longer than a 4F in length, maybe a 5/8"? I would prefer to be able to go quite a bit shorter though, it's just her hips prevent that!

I do use a 5F on the back side of her back legs, but the entire rest of her rear is scissored to fit the shape I want. lol

As Sagan is a pup though, it'll possibly be a case of seeing how it goes and how his structure is as to how short you can go easily! I'd start with a half inch snap on comb along the top of his rear end, and a 4F on the back side of his legs. you want to scissor the rest long anyway...

#4 ·