Poodle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This cocker came in yesterday and I took these BEFORE photos. It was flea infested but look at the nails. I have NEVER done any like this before. I wanted to wait till AFTER the bath so I could clearly see what I was getting into. The straight stick looking thing is a dewclaw!!! The dog was given to this lady who called for the appointment so she didn't CAUSE this. I was an unneutered male and he was in terrible pain walking in. He growled alot at first but was eventually grateful to let me hold his paws and chisel away at the mats. The fur on his toes reminded me of a bunch of bananas. His paws and ears STUNK so bad from yeast infection. It took about 15 minutes to remove the pelt and another 30 minutes soaking in the tub. He had millions of fleas. He had a CAPSTAR BEFORE the clipper work started, too. We washed his smooth skin with washclothes and loofahs to exfoliate his skin. It was like he was in a total body cast. I was afraid his ears would get hematomas so I only clipped an inch on each side, them moved to his body, allowing time for the blood to fill SLOWLY rather than gush to the ends of the ears. He was happy, joyful and appreciative of everything we did for him. He was done on Friday nite, so hopefully they got him a vet appointment on Saturday. His paws were very splayed and definitely required an antibiotic plus and antifungal. Other than that, he had nice muscle tone, decent teeth and a happy-g0-lucky attitude. He had a cherry eye and that eye also had dry-eye. I feel good making dogs like that feel good. Price of groom $100. Making the dog feel good...priceless!!!

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
That poor animal! Thank God you were able to make the poor thing feel (and look) better! How could anyone let that dog be so neglected?

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
OMG, how can people let this happen to their pets so sad :( thank god he has found a home to take care of him.

·