Poodle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. I am new here so forgive me if I am posting in the wrong thread. We have just got our toy poodle puppy few days ago and I am kind of new to this. I have a problem with my cute pup, that she is smelling very much. The smell is mostly coming from her mouth. Extremely smelly breath, that is making me sick. The puppy is only 9 weeks old. Is this normal? Is it going to go away. I started brushing her teeth and got some mouthwash that we mix into her water. Do you know what it can be that makes her smell so much? My husband finds it strange too that she is so tiny but smells so much. We love her dearly. Please help. Thank you.

·
Super Moderator
5,173 Posts
Hi! Congrats on your new poodle!

I loathe puppy smell. Like, my stomach feels funny just thinking about it. Their breath literally smells like poop to me. Actually makes it very tough for me to bond.

But (in my experience) it's normal.

She's been to the vet? All is well?

I wouldn't mess around with things like mouthwash, especially of the antibacterial sort. Let the puppy bacteria do its thing. I imagine it's quite important to their health.

At around 4 months, Peggy's puppy smell was replaced with a lovely toasty dog smell, with just occasional returns to the putrid stink when she was intensely teething.

Now at 7.5 months, she smells so good I just want to chomp on her!

Note: We did have Peggy on Thorne canine probiotics for her first few months. Not sure how beneficial they were, but her digestion is super so far. I don't imagine they could hurt.

·
Registered
6,910 Posts