Poodle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm totally new to all of this. Never had a dog before. I would love some advice on good grooming tips for my dog. I live in Arkansas so need cut suggestions for the different seasons here. Thanks!!!!

·
Registered
4,502 Posts
I groom mine as to what looks the best. 2 I shave down with pompom on tail and feet and one who had babies I keep in a cut so she looks like she has a jacke on, as her rib cage is wider and do not like her shaved with a 4 or 7 like the other 2. Short is much easeir to handle

·
Premium Member
15,810 Posts
First off you need the proper 'tools' and that starts with a pin brush, a slicker brush and a metal comb. If you intend to do your own clipping, buy the best clippers you can afford! ( lots of old threads on rec for grooming equip here!) Grooming schedule will depend a lot on the length of her coat.....longer hair is an everyday job, short clips less often if ears and tail are also kept short, I would at first take her to a groomer and take a picture with you of what you want her to look like, or you might end up with a shaved down poodle! (Before you take her, question the groomers and ask them if they are experienced with poodle clips) A good groomer will help you learn how to brush properly too, if you ask them to show you how!

I also have to rec you buy the book 'Poodle Clipping and Grooming: The International Reference' by Shirlee Kalstone. It is an older book but is considered the bible of poodle grooming and has everything you need to know about caring for the poodle coat!
Also YouTube has lots and lots of poodle grooming videos you can learn from!!!

GOOD LUCK!

·
Registered
12,248 Posts