Poodle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After many years of considering the idea, I’m feeling ready to commit to a dog, specifically a spoo. I have one major area of hesitation, though, and I’m hoping to get some input (as I’ve heard different opinions from different people when I posed this question): my family spends summers in a place that, sadly, doesn’t allow dogs. However, while I go away with my kids all summer, my husband is home during the week and joins us on weekends. A close family member has offered to watch our theoretical dog when we’re all away, but I’m afraid the whole setup would be unfair to the dog. So my question is twofold: is this a doable situation in general? And, if/when I find a suitable puppy, how old do you think the puppy should be before we left it home with my husband and/or relative? Ideally, I’d want as much time with the puppy as possible before the summer, but timing can be tricky. I’m a total novice – and as much as I try to research things, I don’t have any firsthand experience, so would very much appreciate advice!

·
Super Moderator
5,804 Posts
Poodles are very close to their family members and can be sensitive to upheaval. I hope others will weigh in with opposing views, but I personally wouldn't enter into poodle ownership knowing there'd be such consistently long periods of separation.

Is there even a small possibility of adjusting your summer plans to be poodle-friendly? I think that's probably what I'd be digging into first. Or I'd consider adjusting my summer plans down to a week or two.

Having a dog really does add so much value to your life. It would be a trade-off, yes, but not necessarily a compromise.

·
Registered
427 Posts
I second Peggythe Poodle. My boy enjoys my husband but when I visit my brother for a week 2 times per year, the dog us not happy. He's my dog & him & my Giant sulk. They dont like separation from their humans. My Chihuahua loses weight.