Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, we've got a 6 month old poodle mix who is 9 inches at the top of the shoulder, not sure if he'll be toy or mini when full grown. I read on a different post that 5 minutes per month of age, twice a day, was a good guideline, but that was a pretty old post so I want to double check. Walked him about 1.3 miles today (the farthest yet) and he wanted to go briskly the whole way and still wanted to race around when I let him off leash at the end for a few minutes. We have high snow banks, so that may be part of why he didn't want to explore and sniff around too much, or maybe he was a little nervous- I'm still learning to read him.

He seemed to have a great time but I am leery of going too far and hurting him. We do play at home and do mental stimulation/training, and he is good about being able to calm down, so I don't think this was just frenetic energy. Boy is he zonked out on my lap now, though! Any thoughts on time/distance are appreciated, thanks.

·
Registered
6,683 Posts
Hi, we've got a 6 month old poodle mix who is 9 inches at the top of the shoulder, not sure if he'll be toy or mini when full grown. I read on a different post that 5 minutes per month of age, twice a day, was a good guideline, but that was a pretty old post so I want to double check. Walked him about 1.3 miles today (the farthest yet) and he wanted to go briskly the whole way and still wanted to race around when I let him off leash at the end for a few minutes. We have high snow banks, so that may be part of why he didn't want to explore and sniff around too much, or maybe he was a little nervous- I'm still learning to read him.