Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that its always said that its on the future owner/consumer to do the research but I am appreciating more and more how hard that research is when you don't know what you are looking for. The information can be hard to find.

So I have a little thought experiment for you.

Imagine that all dog-related information has been deleted from your brain. You are a complete novice who has decided to get their first ever dog.

Without knowing anyone in the 'dog-hobby' and without any prior knowledge what do you think a complete novice would search for on the internet?

When entering that into the search bar what are the first search results? do you think they lead you to either good breeders or information on how to find them?

When I thought about it, I think most people would search 'poodle puppies for sale (my region)' and when I do that for Belgium its all puppymills.

France was a little better, it did lead me to the french kennel club website. However, the French kennel club is not as strict as for example the Dutch and I was unimpressed with some of the breeders on there, not as bad as puppymills though.

What do you think novice potential owners search for and what pops up when you put that in your search bar?

·
Registered
7,985 Posts
Pretty scary.

Most of the first page was sketchy places that was looking to place puppy mill dogs or may have been scams. AKC Marketplace was near the end of the list. For me that’s a start point, not the only place to look for puppies.

I’m looking for a puppy and none of the quality breeders I’m looking at was in my google search and none advertised on AKC Marketplace.

·
Premium Member
Mia, Christmas in June 2010
2,716 Posts
Yikes! Puppy mills and doodles; nothing good. And I think you're right - I would focus on breeders, not on all the other stuff first time owners struggle with.

·
Registered
1,676 Posts