Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
What's so wrong with it? It's not ideal but I've seen a lot worse topknots done by people claiming to be professionals. It wasn't that bad.

·
Registered
1,972 Posts
I'm not entirely sure why she decided to put that on youtube, but if it's her dog and she's happy w/ it, I don't see a problem. She didn't seem to pass herself off as a professional or an expert. She didn't post it on a grooming forum. It would be nice to have a critique, so we can learn, as opposed to just "don't do it that way." I found the comments on youtube catty and snobbish, but I guess she left herself open to it.

I think that is a pretty dog btw and would love to see her fully groomed in a stylish trim.

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
OMG when she started doing that thing with her hands, like she was cutting kid's hair... I cringed. That's just... not at all how to do a topknot. I'm no pro groomer, and even I know that! Otherwise, it just seemed sloppy, certainly nothing to be showing off or posting it on Youtube, acting like it was a proper method. Considering the lack of a comb, fluffing, curved shears, and using a dirty dog... not to mention she was kept picking and bouncing around with the scissors... Okay so maybe it was really bad. :D I mean, for an at home groomer, she can do it however she wants, but she shouldn't have posted the video and made it look like an example to people learning how to trim a TK, it's just all wrong.

But seriously, where was her comb???

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
I'm very new to grooming and far from an expert but there are a few things she was doing wrong..

the main thing I noticed was the way she was holding her shears..I was always taught to hold them out in front of me slightly angled for top knots and straight in the 12 o clock position for scissoring the body, etc...