Poodle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Mia, a 1,5 year old toy poodle and Chico, a 4 year old cockatiel
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, a little info on me. I am a student who has two years left till going to college. However, I am not the only one taking care of Mia, my toy and Chico, my tiel. I plan on going to med school, it’s definitely going to be in the city I live. We have a garden, it’s a shared one but it’s big and the
neighbours don’t mind Mia since I pick up after her. Since we’re in the middle of a pandemic I don’t take her on walks, instead she has 30mins of garden time in the afternoon, plenty of play sessions and one training session. I love poodles and especially spoos, but there are only puppies available where I live and I’m nervous about that since I never had a puppy before. We got Mia as an adult. I know puppies have a crazy ton of energy. Is 1 hour of garden playtime, play and training sessions frequently enough to burn out the energy of a spoo? Me and my mother share responsibilites, mostly me but the financial support is of course from her. Of course, getting a second dog isn’t a definitive answer since it’s a big commitment. Waiting on your thoughts.

·
Super Moderator
7,249 Posts
Welcome! I also love spoos. :) I can share a bit about my personal experience with them:

Peggy is almost 1.5 years old. She sleeps 10-12 hours per night, naps about 5 hours throughout the day, and the rest of the time really just wants to be close to us (really close to us) and involved in whatever we're doing.

She probably gets 1-2 hours of physical exercise each day, in the form of play with us and/or other dogs, multiple short "potty" walks on our property or street, sometimes a 20-minute walk downtown for socialization or a longer meandering walk on a trail for lots of sniffing, etc.