Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's been on my mind for a while, but I have no idea on how to go about it. I think Desmond would make a wonderful therapy dog (once he gets a bit older and mellows out a little) because his personality is so well-suited for it. Thing is, I've only read a small amount about therapy dogs. I know we have a few on this forum, I'd love to hear some of your thoughts on what makes a therapy dog, how one would go about training one, etc. I've never known a therapy dog or anyone who's done anything like it, so I have very little knowledge on the subject.

I have always been especially fascinated with the READ program, and I think it would be something that Desmond could thoroughly enjoy. He has such a laid back, calm, cuddly temperament that I think he would be pretty well suited for this kind of thing with a little more training and age. What do you think? :) We wouldn't do it for a long time due to my own circumstances, but it's something I'd like to do in the future. What do I need to know/do to take part in it?

As far as training goes: I plan to get him into official obedience classes shortly to prepare for earning his CGC, but he's already very very good at basic obedience. I have no problem bringing him to pet stores or out in public, and he listens to commands in all places. There are a few areas we need to improve on, but he's incredibly smart and learns/improves quickly.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
That would be Great! He Must have a Rock Solid heel on a 4' (or less) leash. Sit and down anywhere, anytime. NO jumping! Needs to be friendly but not pushy. No licking. Try and get him around different equipment like crutches or walkers.