Poodle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recommendations? What have you tried? Anything you loved? Anything that didn't click for your team? Bad Dog, Fenzi, Susan Garrett...what else? Did you audit or pay the whole thing and get video analysis? Was it helpful?

·
Registered
Leo (GSD), Lily (APBT), and Simon (SPoo)
680 Posts
I've not taken any agility classes, but I have taken a TON of other classes with FDSA. While I frequently suggest doing the Bronze auditing level, for agility, if you are an absolute beginner who's never done it before, then I do recommend springing for Gold level if you can, and getting the one-on-one feedback. Even if you can't do that, then most classes have a Facebook group, and a lot of those will have a Teaching Assistant available for helping Bronze level students with one-on-one feedback, similar to what the instructor is giving Gold students.

Reactions: MaizieFrosty

·
Registered
1,551 Posts
Thanks to Embark's notification of new relatives of my dogs, Frosty has a "full sibling" who is doing agility and loves it...got me interested in trying it with him! Will research Fenzi's stuff. Thanks, TeamHellhound.

·
Registered
9,687 Posts
I used to teach agility, now teach Scentwork. One of my clubs has quite a few very competitive agility teams who are invited to national meets so I’m exposed to a lot of training opportunities as we have seminars etc. The websites and training I’ve been exposed to are Susan Garrett, One Mind and Baddog.

I’ve taken Susan Garrett’s and it’s a great website, tons of exercises etc. but I could see where it might be overwhelming unless you had certain goals or problem areas you knew you wanted to work on.