Poodle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm new to poodles. I got my princess (standard poodle: Tia) a few weeks before christmas, as a rescue and I love her to bits. She's 6 months.

And I need some advise from real poodle people.

But her coat is quit straight on the last 2-3inches, closer to the root it is very wavy and the short bits around her neck are curly..err

Don't get me wrong I love her bouncy fluffy puppy coat, but will it get curly eventually I've heard that it can take up to two years for the coat to fully develop, is this true?

Please Help
Simone

·
Registered
6,611 Posts
She is only 6 months so she still has puppy fluff. She will go through coat change as she gets a bit older (mine is almost 12 months old and she is in coat change right now) and her wavy puppy fluff will (ideally) turn to dense, curly hair.

Also, how long is her coat? You say "the last 2 or 3 inches" so I assume her coat must be quite long. It does tend to be a bit straighter as it gets longer.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here coat is about 6 inches long.
I love the bouncy fluff and want to enjoy it while she has it, but at the same time I keep worrying it would not get any curlier.

Do all poodles go through this or are some born curly?
Is 12 months the typical age or does it vary? :alberteinstein:

Thank you so much
Simone

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
My mini never really had the puppy fluff, it was always curly and pretty dense for a puppy coat. My friend who breeds toy poodles couldn't stop remarking about his coat when she met him at 4 month old. Although it didn't stand up as nicely as it does now that he's older (he's about 15 months now).

But it's very normal for poodle to have the straighter puppy fluff. The timing of the coat change (as far as I am aware) can start anywhere from 9 months to 18 months.

6 inches of hair, can I say holy cow? You have more patience than me, LOL.

·
Registered
6,611 Posts