Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Toy poodles Zara(2015) and Reyna(2020). Maltese Ema(2011/2019) and Roxy(2011)
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello friendly poodle people,
This is my first time to have a pappy as my baby, my two other dogs are adopted when there where seniors and Zara came to me as adult dog.
Every doggo of mine is spayed and now Reyna turned 6 months and need to be spayed to but I have worries because of her active and crazy personality. I am 100 % sure that she can not wear any type of plastic collar after surgery and I am 100 % sure that she will lick and maybe even touch her stiches and do something that I don't want to experience because I dont want her to be in any type of pain.
Me and poodle dad where thinking... Maybe if we stay awake for 2,3 days and monitor her constantly is the solution?
Any throughts? Any suggestions?
Thank you in advance.
🐩❤

·
Registered
12,720 Posts
Firstly, 6 months is now considered rather young for spaying - you may want to research your options. When Poppy was spayed I put her into a baby onesie vest, with holes cut for her tail and to allow her to pee etc. It worked very well, and she did not attempt to chew the stitches - she was not a bouncy puppy, though, which does make a difference! At night I put a leash and harness on her and took her to bed with me, wrapping the leash around my wrist so that I would wake if she started licking or tried to jump down - it worked very well for us. There are also comfier alternatives to the old fashioned plastic collar - donut type ones are well tolerated by most dogs.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello, thank you for the answer 🙏
I did read online but I saw sooo many different oppinions and I can't figure what is the best choice. My vet told me that we can do it when she is 7 mo old before first heath (i think that is the word when they first become interested in males).