Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Benjamin Franlkin - Senior Tpoo, Apple Butter - mpoo puppy
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I KNOW this topic has been beaten to death but I admit I still don't quite understand even after reading through old posts. My puppy is terrified of my big corded Andis clipper. My old man hates it too, but tolerates it okay. They both HATE it on their face. It doesn't seem to even work well. They don't care one bit about the groomer's clippers. My girl didn't care much about the breeder's clippers. They don't care about my electric toothbrush. Even the nailgrinder is much less scary to them than the big Andis clipper. I only wanna do face feet sani, so I am looking for something smaller and quieter.

I think it was Peggy's mom who recommended the Mini Arco trimmer for this. But when I go to look, it seems like it only has a 30 blade and I am so scared of being a total newb and using such a short blade! From what I've read, I thought I should use like a 10 or something. Is this only teh recommendation for people who know what they're doing, or could I (a person with ZERO skills) figure it out? You should see the pandemic haircut I gave my children! I don't want to accidentally cut puppy when I am trying so hard to train grooming into a pleasurable experience for all of us.

I have a mini poodle puppy and an oversized toy. So small is a big benefit. But should I look at a regular Arco? Or a bravura lithium? And also... why does it seem like these are so hard to find!? They seem to be sold out all over the internet. At this point I don't even care about cost. I just want something that will work well that I can learn how to use so I can see my beautiful doggies' faces and toesies inbetween professional grooms.

(And, of course, Thank You PFers for putting up with my ignorance. ;) )

·
Super Moderator
Peggy Sue, Standard Poodle Born May 2019
8,780 Posts