Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All right, i'm in Dallas visiting my parents and a friend of my mom said that a lady at her church has a daughter learning how to groom, mostly self taught but she just got a grooming job at a small local salon but they want her to have so many practice "hands on" grooms before actually working on commission. So she still gets paid but it's pretty much all from tips while she's training.

I was asked if I would let her groom Vega and possibly even Dodger to help her out as they rarely see Standard Poodles let alone someone to let a girl "practice" on them. Well..i'm not picky, and my dogs were about to get groomed anyway so I let her! Dodger is scheduled to go in later today but she did Vega this evening.

While I don't LOVE it i think she did a great job! She did much better then I was doing when I first started. I gave her free reign but i did tell her I liked the legs fluffy and did not want an all over cut, i told her to do whatever she wanted with his top knot..she gave him a MOHAWK. lol!!

I never would have done this to him in a million years, but it looks so cute and I love how she did the whole Mr. T style hawk instead of a skinny short line. It almost reminds me of a modified pony-doodle style top knot the way it goes a bit further down the back.

All in all im happy with it, i think she did a great job and If she is doing this kind of work already I can't wait to see what she can do in a few years.

Unfortunately she didn't have time to do his feet, and anybody can do poodle feet so I told her to just work on his body and she did a good job.

I definitely tipped her well for it.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
I like it a lot!

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Discussion Starter #4