Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys - I've been lurking around this forum for the past few weeks and thought I would introduce myself and tell my story.

I had two poodles when I was growing up - one who came from a pet store (and was probably the result of a puppy mill) and another from a breeder. We never intended to be a poodle family. My mom didn't even intend to come home with our first poodle but she said that he was speaking to her with his eyes and she couldn't leave the store without him.

In college, I thought I was grown and responsible enough for my own dog (even though I was a full time student, living on my own, and all the activities that came along with that). I saved up my money and bought a toy poodle - Toby - from a backyard breeder (who, while maybe not the highest quality breeder, was lovely and cared about her dogs). Even though he wasn't the runt of the litter and his parents were pretty typical toy size, he never cracked 3.5lbs his whole life. We always joked that he had a growth deficiency.

I did the best I could to train him, not having a clue what I was doing. He really didn't need much training and practically house trained himself. Although he did get away with his fair share of bad behavior because of his small size. I had been dating my then boyfriend, now husband for about six months when I brought Toby home.