Poodle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats the difference. when I type that in on google images I got light silvers, dark silvers, blacks with white faces, and everything inbetween.

Can someone tell me how to tell a silver from a blue and show me some pictures of real blues.

and do they fade to the same color?

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
I'm not an expert by any means and I have no doubt somebody can explain it loads better that I can. However I believe blues tend to appear almost black for a long long time. The final color is a lot darker as well. There are several blue owners on the forum who can probably provide pictures. Silvers can be almost white in some of the photos you see. Platnium is a good word I suppose. As babies they are often already silver on their face and feet, my girl was. She'll be 10 months old tomarrow.

Maybe the variations you are seeing, especialy the blacks with white faces, are young silvers before they turn silver if that makes sense. Saleen was a real dark black all over except face and feet, already they were very light silver. In fact a lot of people thought she was a very old dog rather than a 4 month old puppy.

·
Registered
157 Posts
This website has been very informative for me regarding coat colors. I've linked it to the black and blue page, and at the very bottom there are pictures comparing black, blue, and silver poodles as adults and puppies.

http://arpeggiopoodles.tripod.com/poodlecoatcolorsblueandblack.html

It does a good job of explaining what a black and blue should look like. If you look around that site you will find the other coat colors as well.

But regarding your last question, no, silvers and blues do not clear to the same color. Not all blues will fade to the same color either. Some may clear lighter then others because in all honesty, not all poodles are made equally.

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
Silver and Blue are variations on Black.