Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have zero experience with this. When I had two dogs, they spent more time coveting each other's goodies than caring about protecting their own. This resulted in incessant swapsies, and the occasional stolen dinner, but zero confrontation.

Peggy's best playmate is a lovely young Briard. They were in puppy class together and still do some puppyish playing and chasing, but mostly now they just relax together in the grass and find random things to chew (roots, branches, fallen fruit).

And then they protect them from each other.

Peggy (as usual) is the vocal one. She'll growl if her buddy tries to take something from her. Sometimes it escalates to a snarl. Maybe twice we've caught her air snapping a warning. It's never gotten more physical than that, but Peggy sometimes seems stressed after, so I usually get in there and redirect.

Her buddy is the strong, silent type. She's got the classic Briard 'do, so you can't see her eyes. That makes her a little inscrutable to me. But she gives up easily when Peggy tells her to, and then quietly stands her ground when she's the one with the prize.

They will often lay shoulder-to-shoulder while one or both chews, but they never engage in tug o' war or freely swap like my old dogs did. If one gets distracted, the other typically swoops in for the steal. The other then stares (which seems a little rude), but then backs down.

My question: Is it okay to let them do this?

My worry is that this will increase Peggy's occasional guarding tendencies. Or is dog-dog resource guarding entirely separate from dog-human resource guarding?