Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those that do any raw diets I'd like to know what some of your recipes are like, not real specific but what are your dogs favorite meat as well as whats the best for them?

Also do you believe in and or use suppliments? And was there a cost savings/increase? I am looking (just looking right now) at a couple different things but I am really a bit confused on some of it. Mainlt concerning the bones, as well as servings.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
I'll be trying raw when I get my poodle, but I'll be doing prey model, so he or she will be getting a whole rabbit (or half in the morning and half in the evening.)

I've never done raw before, so it'll be a new experience.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
Riley eats a prey model raw diet. I buy meats and cut them up/"make" them myself. I dont feed veggies as dogs dont need them, and the only supplement i give is fish oil. 6 years later and no problems. I have never really done the math, but i would guess that in general it is either the same cost as a high quality kibble i would buy or cheaper. Depends on what meat/price i get. I feed chicken, turkey, pork, rabbit, venison, some beef, some fish.

I dont really go by a "recipe" so much as a guideline. I try and have an Average of 80-85% meat in the diet. I am not heavy on bone, and he gets some organs. By average, i mean every meal doesnt have to be balanced. There are many days he goes boneless, doesnt get organs, etc. We dont eat a balanced meal every day either.