Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Premium Member
22,982 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For anyone playing in rally who finds some of the signs mysterious in meaning, ask here.

One important thing to note about figuring out AKC rally signs is to make sure you look at the sign descriptions as they appear in the rule book. The parts of the explanations that are in bold are the main parts of the exercise on which scoring is based. Here is a link to a pdf with explanations of the signs. http://images.akc.org/pdf/events/2017-rev-rally-minisignswdescriptions-1-2018.pdf

Reactions: Caddy and snow0160

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
I am very very new to Rally. I have a few questions:
1. Can you chose your own hand signals or are there established ones?
2. I know they deduct points in competitions and look for precision. What level precision? For example, in our obedience class, stay means no movement of any kind. Is that the same for the Halt sign?
3. The rally classes are monitored but no one is there to provide formal training. It is more of a practice run through environment. Who do you go when you need help?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
8,202 Posts
1. Can you chose your own hand signals or are there established ones? You can do whatever hand signals you want, but no luring hands (I try to keep a flat guiding hand so it will never look like luring). And you can't touch the dog in the ring. Only exception I can think of is the stand in Intermediate and Advanced, in which you can touch the dog to get it in a stand.

2. I know they deduct points in competitions and look for precision. What level precision? For example, in our obedience class, stay means no movement of any kind. Is that the same for the Halt sign? For the halt sign, the dog must sit without getting up (but it can move its head, doesn't have to be a robot statue). If it sits crookedly, you could lose a point or two.