Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At my trial, one of the exhibitors was a rally instructor. She told me that if my dog is in Rally A, because I have no other obedience titles on my dog, or any dog in the past, I should hold off on getting a BN or a CD until I'm completely done with Rally. As soon as I get a BN or a CD, I am required to only show in Rally B. Right now, I can show in Rally A all the way through to the end. There is a whole lot less competition in Rally A.

Just something to consider if you're a total newbie to dog trials like me.

·
Premium Member
22,983 Posts
That is not entirely correct. You can stay in the A classes through Rally Excellent if you have no obedience titles, but to earn an RAE you must go to the B classes as quoted below from the Rally rule book, Chapter 3, section 15:

"Section 15. Rally Advanced Excellent Title.
Upon completion of the Rally Excellent title, qualifying scores may be accumulated from the Rally Advanced B class and the Rally Excellent B class to earn the Rally Advanced Excellent (RAE) title. To earn a Rally Advanced Excellent title, the dog must have received qualifying scores in both Advanced B and Excellent B at 10 separate licensed or member rally trials.
The RAE title will appear at the end of the dog’s name and a numeric designation will indicate the number of times the dog has met RAE rrequirements, i.e. RAE2, RAE3, etc"

The advantage of being in the A classes is only really about them being smaller classes and making placements more likely. The A and B courses are the same and judging is the same. I had to show Peeves in B classes and also have to show Javelin in B classes. For a class handlers I think there are many things to think about in terms of A vs. B and when to to rally titles vs. obedience titles.