Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. A breeder says that her dogs are all vet checked, that her females are health tested clear with Embark, and her males are clear using the Pawprint poodle panel, but that she has not done OFA testing... is this enough? It looks like the poodle panel covers all of the major issues? Also, are those results posted publicly anywhere, like on a registry or something? I am new to this! Thanks for your patience :)

·
Premium Member
6,281 Posts
You can actually go to ofa.org and look up the recommended testing for each size poodle.
And testing results is publically available there.
Bad knees or hips is painful for the dog and your wallet

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Sounds like a disreputable breeder.

For miniature and standard poodles, hip testing through OFA is very important. X rays must be sent in for analysis. For toy poodles (and miniature poodles) patellar luxation is a big issue and the test for this is performed by a veterinarian and results are then submitted to OFA.

Eye exams are another issue, especially with toy poodles I think.

You can ask about specific tests and see what she says. It is possible for some of these that they have completed the tests but simply don't use OFA (not ideal) but for hips it's definitely necessary.

·
Registered
531 Posts
You can check on OFA. A lot of breeders do hip/elbows/patella‘s and don’t submit it. It cost extra per test and if you have a lot of dogs it adds up. Most show breeders it seems have quite a few dogs..most don’t advertise that they have so many. I spoke to a few last weekend at a show and one had a total of 13 , and another 18...another 8 . It’s just mind boggling..I can’t imagine keeping up with that many dogs and having any free time.