Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
some of you may know me from the other thread where I happily decided to go for a toy poodle (vs a designer breed).
I have been talking to soooo many breeders and there's two breeders I am considering now but I have a few questions about both. Any input welcome!

1. Breeder #1 - not KC assured but seem like they put a lot of effort into their pups. I have been chatting to them for a couple months now. They seem really lovely and just had two litters of so many lovely pups in so many different colours (there's a black phantom, a brown phantom, partis, blacks, apricot). Firstly, since they have all these "non recognised" colours such as partis and phantoms - is that an issue? Those colours are so lovely but I don't know if it suspicious. Secondly, some of their dogs are really small, 7-8 inches, and they call them tiny toys :( they do NOT advertise tiny toys, nor do they breed specifically to have small puppies (one of the mother is 10 inches and just standard), but they say something along the lines of "this mother is so small, she is what would be considered a tiny toy". They said they bought her from a KC assured breeder who didn't want her. She also had to have a C section now so they won't breed from her anymore. For the record I just saw all the dogs on video call, they all look really healthy and happy, well fed and groomed, I saw the mothers with babies, and everything else. Finally, they do charge high prices, 3000 - 3500 GBP, which is in line with the absolute craziness that is going on in the UK regarding poodle (and doodle) pricing. They said they had to purchase some of their dogs at these prices so they need to charge that.