Poodle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do any of your fur babies point like a bird dog? I caught Bijou pointing exactly like I鈥檝e seen in pictures. I don鈥檛 keep her tail in a traditional puffy pom pom,but straight. So it was straight behind her with front paw and back paw lifted. Is this normal for poodles?

Premium Member
Elroy: Standard Poodle, Born 02/20/21
I think "pointing" may be the first position of stalking. Elroy only points at creatures that are being still. If I allow it, he will begin stalking after pointing a while; otherwise I just say "let's go Elroy", and we move on (most times he listens/complies, not always 馃ぃ).

Registered
Yep Dewy points naturally so we tried some other things. The first time I noticed it he was pointing at birds on the backyard feeder. Once I realized he could track down a pheasant dummy via scent trails I made. I started training him for upland pheasant hunting. He's a natural retriever too standard poodles are originally upland game hunting dogs. Just look at their paws they have webbed feet naturally born water retrievers. Excellent markers on land and water so versatile they can do it all 馃檪. Get ready for some leg pulling though and ridiculing. It's all in good fun and expected in the field don't believe me just ask the Robertson family.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #14 ·