Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Poodle Forum members,

I've placed a deposit on a puppy that will be 8 weeks old in mid-August. I will have to travel by car from New York to Florida to retrieve this puppy. The breeder has told me that during the trip, it is safe for the pup to relieve itself outside, as it will have had its initial vaccinations and biweekly deworming. I'm a bit concerned about this advice and would appreciate input from experienced Poodle-iers.

I'm a novice at dogs and am nervous, nervous, nervous that I'll mess up some aspect of Poodle ownership, so I'm sure I'll be a frequent flyer on this forum. I'll try not to be too much of a pest, and I promise pictures once puppy arrives. :)

Elizabeth

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
If you can, purchase an exercise pen that you can set up at stops along the way. You can even get mats that allow urine through and can be hosed off. That is what dog show folks use.

One warning - either stay by the pen when the dog is in it or purchase a top for it. Poodles are notorious for climbing/jumping out.

·
Registered
12,469 Posts
Welcome, and congratulations on your puppy!

I would plan on taking a puppy playpen and puppy pads - that way you can create a safe toilet space wherever you need to. At 8 weeks your puppy may still be protected by maternal antibodies, may be protected by vaccination or may not be protected at all, if the maternal antibodies inhibited the vaccination but have now worn off - this is the reason for giving a course of vaccinations and a booster at 1 year. A pen is also safer than relying on just a harness, and if you use pads you can ask the breeder to "anoint" one or two before you leave, to encourage the pup to pee.

[eta - Two minds with a single thought, Johanna!]

Reactions: Elizabeth

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4