Poodle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am so proud of Ruby. Last week I ended up running down the street in my short nightgown and underwear at 5:30am b/c I took her out for a pee and dropped teh leash and off she ran. Well i was embarrased, angry and humilated. So I started training her to come on command, and she has always done so in teh house, but outside is a different thing totally, once she gets intersted in something getting her attention is near impossible. So I bought me some hotdogs, sliced them up really small and started. It took her about 20 mins to "get it" I was surprised. Than today I started to allow her to get interested tonight in something than call her to come....she did, she did it even though not everytime I had a reward for her. We just spent about 40 mins playing fetch, and learning to drop whatever and come when called. All this in total took less than a hr, 2 hotdogs and a boat load of fun for all of us.

My older dog will be 5 this year and even though he has met with a trainer, has never responded to anything in terms of training, Quincy is my stubborn little man. he has never done what you wanted unless he wants it to. he also tonight out of the blue started, coming when called as well. Almost 5 years old never cared before and suddnely he wants to do it too!! :) if you don't know about chinese cresteds, they can be extremely stubborn, which he is obvioulsy. But b/c he was my only dog and very much bonded, never left my side etc etc, I never really stressed to much about him. So when he refused to learn I was ok with that.

I am so proud of both my guys right now, Quincy needed a reason to learn and Ruby is it, he is quite competive obvioously lol. Ruby has been a great teacher. Ruby fetches really well and spent 40 mins running back and forth fetching, coming, sitting etc etc. Quincy spent his 40 mins pretty much doing the same thing.