Poodle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen poodles in the ring and read the breed standard. I have also heard people say that a lot of standards in the ring toy do not have proper movement. Since I am new to poodles my self I would like to know what is the proper movement for standard poodles. I do know when I see great movement in any breed but I want to be sure :D

I think this silver pup has great movement I posted video here

http://www.poodleforum.com/showthread.php?t=2973

I have taken video of poodles and the ring and I sit and slow down the video to watch it lol

I think Enzo has pretty good movement ( when I can make him trot right) but I am not sure.

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
No other breeders have responded? :) This is the advantage of Conformation showing. You get to see a lot of dogs move and not all of it is pretty or correct.

This is what the standard has to say:
A straightforward trot with light springy action and strong hindquarters drive. Head and tail carried up. Sound effortless movement is essential.

Translation.... The movement should have good suspension. That means that the dog lifts off and clears the ground as it moves. http://www.alegriapoodles.com/html/mini-boys.html (look at Cowboy... all 4 feet are off the ground).

The movement should give the impression of moving slightly uphill with the "power" coming from the rear. A Poodle should never lower itself when it moves.

Movement has to be even with balanced reach and drive. This means that the front leg has to reach out forward as far as the back pushes out back. The movement has to go somewhere and cover ground.

So many people look at the side picture and don't pay attention to the often more important down and back movement. A Poodle has to track straight so that the front legs are inline with the back. A Poodle should not sidewind (move with its hind end out to the side) or flip their legs or rotate its shoulders.