Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took Annie in to a groomer's today to get her face+feet+ her nails dremmeled, and also got her ears plucked. She had massive gobs of waxy hair in her ears, and I have just been too timid to pluck any more than a small amount at a time. This is only her second ever professional groom (I brought her in once as a puppy), so she's never had her ears plucked before. I have been having to clean her ears with earwash 1-2x a week to keep them from becoming smelly.

Well, her ears are now hot to the touch this evening. Is it a good idea to clean them with ear cleaner tonight? I am feeling quite guilty!

·
Registered
3,091 Posts
After plucking Renns ears I usually wait a day and see. She probably had a lot of hair in their and now they are irritated or were on the verge of infection. I usually will put in some zymox with hydrocortisone and then wipe it with a cotton ball. I'm no expert Must say thats just what I do.

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The groomer let me stay while she groomed, so I saw it. Lots of thick strands of long waxy hair. I'd taken out huge balls at Christmas, and the groomer got even deeper/more today (though luckily it was no longer in clumps).

I'm quite irritated at myself - i accidentally spilled all of my favourite ear cleaner a few days ago (which I have to buy online), so only have a bottle of smelly ineffective stuff. Gah.

·
Registered
436 Posts