Poodle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying recall games in our fenced backyard with Cleo using a 20-ft long line. Basically, we're playing ping pong --i toss food away, she goes to get it, and then I call her back and toss again in another direction. So far so good. But, I've never used a long line before, and i'm confused about how to keep both of us from getting tangled up and tripping, especially Cleo, when she's running back and forth. Even if i take up the extra length, what's left is dragging on the ground (and in my yard right now that means a lot of dragging through mud...). I can't really gather it up more because i'm having her run away and then quickly run back to me from different distances. I have the line attached to her harness, and I have been attaching it in front, like her leash, but maybe i should attach it on the back for this kind of thing? I feel like there is probably a simple answer here than i'm missing because of my inexperience. Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
23,228 Posts
If your yard is fenced then you shouldn't need a long line since they can get tangled and make more problems than they solve. If I felt the dog didn't have a reliable recall then for something like this I would use a flexi and hold it high above the dog as she returns. You can play that game over very short distances in the house before taking it outside. After that if you have a deck or patio play the game there over slightly longer distances at first.

This is a great recall game and my training assistant and I teach it in our focus and attention workshops.

Reactions: MustLoveDogs

·
Premium Member
9,706 Posts
I bought a 20’ long line and it was a fiasco. I got the line so twisted and it was completely unnecessary for training recall. Ian Dunbar’s method of recalling for check-ins with treat bonanzas worked best for my food motivated guy. If I didn’t have a fenced yard, I might have had to get proficient.

·