Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I play music professionally. I am a classical guitarist.

I was wondering if your poodle, or whatever type of dog you have, reacts in any way to music. Is there any personal experience you have with that? Is there perhaps some research on the topic?

I practice often, and I wonder how dogs react to music. Charlie sometimes leaves the room :) Maybe he doesn't like my playing, or the song, or maybe he likes to sit in silence sometimes?

He does not leave often, but will move to a more secluded spot especially when I practice late at night.

Any input or personal experience?

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
There is a ton of research out there on dogs and music! Glad you posted this as it's always been an interest of mine too. :)

A friend of mine gave me two CD compilations--music for dogs. They seem to enjoy the music! My mother plays Classical music for her poodle when she's away and is convinced it relaxes him. Mine like the Dog CDs but they also love my 'native american' drumming CDs--the pieces incorporate a lot of animal sounds, like hawks, wolves howling, insects chirping, etc. so that might be why. (David & Steve Gordon: [ame]http://www.amazon.com/Sacred-Drum-Visions-Anniversary-Collection/dp/B000062Y9N[/ame])

"Through a Dog's Ear" - Music for dogs and everyone who loves 'em!
[ame]http://www.amazon.com/While-You-Are-Gone-Music/dp/B00004ZB78/ref=pd_sim_m_2[/ame]
What kind of music do dogs enjoy listening to? Science has the answer!
[The Animal Science researchers] found playing classic music with specific ambiance sound such as dog barking, human conversation and crow's crow inserted over the music is the most effective combination to relax dogs.
Music for Dogs (Music Therapy for Dogs, Relaxation Music for dogs)

·
Registered
256 Posts