Poodle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been researching poodles for about 6 months now. I have had shelties my whole life and I am looking into a new breed for a few reasons and poodles seem to fit the needs. I now have 3 people in the family allergic to dogs. My family has been highly afflicted with Lyme disease so I want a dog that has either very little coat or a coat that can be clipped very short in tick season. I like to hike and want an "off-leash" dog that is responsive and obedient. I spend time at the beach and need a dog that does not get over heated and enjoys the water. I also need a dog that is calm in the house and flexible when it comes to his environment. I know a lot of what I want can be satisfied with a Labrador retriever, but I just seem to avoid that breed for some reason. Today I have been trying to look up wether light colored poodles, when clipped short, will sun burn. Thank you!

·
Registered
548 Posts
Hi, and welcome! Poodles are generally obedient, I certainly would trust my toy Poodle over my Jack Russell to come back if he got loose! They are very sensitive dogs, however, and will respond more negatively than most to traditional training techniques. They do have an ‘off’ switch.

You’ll find that Poodles are variable on how much they enjoy water. They were bred to be marsh dogs, so they are more comfortable in ankle deep water rather than full-in, although you’ll certainly find Poodles that practically live in the water!

As for your grooming question, it depends on how short you clip the coat. Most any dog will sunburn if their coat is clipped short enough; which is one of the reasons why husky owners are discouraged from shaving their dogs down, for instance.