Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
596 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Poodle Kid is going on his first vacation with us to Cape Cod. The place is a dream for dogs and we have taken our past dogs there before. I am pretty new to grooming and have never had to keep him clean with wet sand around. I like to keep him very clean - since he sleeps in bed with me. Any advice regarding wet sand and grooming? Do I have to schlepp the entire grooming arsenal with me? Will he need a bath every day - or just combing the sand out works? I keep his hair fairly short on his body - but very long on his legs and he still has puppy hair - although a beautiful texture that rarely mats.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,139 Posts
Poodle Kid is so adorable. I love the idea of calling your dog "poodle kid" because frankly that's what my dog is, one of my kids. Lucky Poodle Kid going on a fun vacation.

My dog has only been into wet sand once. In retrospect I think I did the wrong thing. I immediately gave her a bath. It was so hard to wash out the sand and it made a real mess of my shower. My dog has a very thick wiry (but feels soft) adult poodle coat.

I would have been better just letting her dry, then the sand would naturally fall out and away from her fur. Followed by brushing/combing to remove the rest. You can then assess if you need to wash and dry your dog.

We do have several members who take their poodles to the beach often to romp around. Hopefully they will respond as they have much more experience.