Poodle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to poodles and the forum. I have a beautiful and sweet 6 month old red toy poodle. He is an extremely picky eater and I'm wondering if there is a kibble out there that moms and dads of picky eaters can recommend? I was feeding Fromms, which he wasn't eating, and then switched to Purina Pro Plan, which he also stopped eating. I've been cooking for him (chicken, beef, turkey, white rice, sweet potatoes, carrots) which I'm sure has made him even pickier but he wasn't eating and I was nervous as he's only 4 pounds. I mix the homemade food in with the kibble, but he leaves the kibble behind in the bowl. Recommendations on good tasting kibble? I don't want to feed a grain-free kibble...

·
Super Moderator
5,266 Posts
I had a very picky miniature poodle cross who would take a single piece of kibble, carry it all the way across the room, drop it on the area rug, eat it, walk all the way back to the bowl.....and repeat this until she'd eaten an approximate mouthful.

Eventually she learned to carry the whole mouthful to the carpet so she could save a few (dozen) trips. But it still took her ages to finish even a single serving for her size.

I coped by free feeding her a high quality kibble, monitoring her weight (or, more importantly her body composition and energy level), and not stressing about it. Often she'd go all day without eating and then enjoy a leisurely dinner. Or some days the mood would strike for a midday snack.

Eventually she grew out of this. After spending 6 months with my parents' pack of voracious eaters, while I immigrated to the United States, she turned into a ravenous beast. Honestly? I think she was happier before.

But if you'd like to try something new, the overwhelming favourite kibble for all our dogs has always been Nutro Ultra.

·
Registered
3,650 Posts