Poodle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! As I have mentioned in another thread, I will be getting my toy poodle Zuko around September 21 (8wks) and I have been preparing for his arrival. I am a grad student who live in a college town at an apartment with a lot of younger college students and dogs. My apartment is similar to a one story cottage/house with a porch (no roomates) - everything is open no fences. I am concerned about taking Zuko out to potty so young when there are so many dogs around who I have noticed "release" around my house frequently. In 2 hours i noted 5 dogs come by (with their owners) who "released" near my house. When i receive him he will be up on his shots but I just don't want him to get sick. Am I overreacting or should i consider other alternatives like a grass potty pad for my porch until he gets older :cautious:? ( I will not be using the traditional potty pads inside the house)

·
Premium Member
6,561 Posts
You shouldn't be taking your not fully vaccinated pup into places with other dogs, and at 8 weeks your pup will not be fully vaccinated, also toy pups should not have more than one vaccination at a time it is very hard on them, vaccines should be spread out with at least to three weeks in between you can sicken your pup or kill them when they are that small.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You shouldn't be taking your not fully vaccinated pup into places with other dogs, and at 8 weeks your pup will not be fully vaccinated, also toy pups should not have more than one vaccination at a time it is very hard on them, vaccines should be spread out with at least to three weeks in between you can sicken your pup or kill them when they are that small.