Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll be grooming my mini poodle myself. I am going to place an order for grooming tools from PetEdge but before I do I was hoping to get some comments on what to buy. I have never done any of this before! (But I am really excited to get started!)

Clipper: Andis, Wahl or Oster. Any big differences to these brands?

Blades: Which blades do I need for FFT? Sanitary clip? Body?

Combs: I saw some others mention the Wahl stainless steel attachment combs and I want to get some of those. I wasn't sure what sizes, though. I see PetEdge sells the whole set for $38. Do I need them all?

Blade rinse/clipper cool: Do I need both the rinse and the spray?

Shears: I know these are pricey. As a pet owner grooming my own dog, what should I get?

Am I forgetting anything? (I already have pin brush, slicker, steel comb and dremel for nails.)

Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Clippers - I use an Andis Ultra Edge, love love love my clipper. I also have an Whal cordless clipper for face/feet/tail and sanitary area. This has a five in one blade so I can change it as needed. It is also light weight and quiet compared to full sized clippers.

Scissors - Gieb makes some nice shears as does Roseline. Economical but still hold up well.

Comb Attachments - I love the whal steel combs. I use almost all of mine on my poodles. They reduce scissor time and save hand/arm fatigue.

I use a blade sanitatizer as well as a cooling spray. If you take care of your tools they will last longer and work better.

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Clippers - I use an Andis Ultra Edge, love love love my clipper. I also have an Whal cordless clipper for face/feet/tail and sanitary area. This has a five in one blade so I can change it as needed. It is also light weight and quiet compared to full sized clippers.