Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

Premium Member
Killa and Tekno
Discussion Starter #1
I have a strong interest in conformation showing (as well as obedience but that鈥檚 another thread馃檪) I have about 7+ years of pet grooming experience (not currently a groomer but have all my supplies), lots of dog knowledge and training skills but no direct showing experience. What do you think it would take for me to finish a male toy to champion? Leaving this a little open ended on purpose :)

oh also Im in the LA area and would want to do it locally (shows within 200 miles)

Premium Member
I have a strong interest in conformation showing (as well as obedience but that鈥檚 another thread馃檪) I have about 7+ years of pet grooming experience (not currently a groomer but have all my supplies), lots of dog knowledge and training skills but no direct showing experience. What do you think it would take for me to finish a male toy to champion? Leaving this a little open ended on purpose :)

oh also Im in the LA area and would want to do it locally (shows within 200 miles)

From my observational experience in AKC the chances of finishing are slim to none for owner handlers, but UKC is much more likely.

Premium Member
To get an AKC championship, you would need a professional handler. There are so many insiders, and internal politics that a newbie would be overwhelmed. As far as obedience, though, absolutely you can shine as a beginner.

Registered
We used to have a member here with 2 toy poodles (I鈥檓 blanking on her name, but she introduced us to PeggyTheParti) and she showed her dog Matisse to his AKC championship with help from her breeder. So try asking that fab breeder of yours to mentor you or introduce you to someone who will.