Poodle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a client with an 8 yr old maltese. She has 2 others also, and I groom all 3 every 4 weeks. This time when they came in I could tell a huge difference in Abby. She and her sister Bailey look like twins. Usually I can only tell them apart by their collars. Abby has lost a lot of weight and her coat had not grown back. She literally looked like I had just groomed her. Today she was diagnosed with diabetes. The vet said she would need a high fiber diet and insulin shots 2x a day. He said he would probably put his dog down because of how confining it is for the dog and the family.

The owner is one of my best clients and called me for advice, however, I have no experience with diabetic dogs. I was just wondering if anyone had any input on this.

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
3,145 Posts
I have a client with an 8 yr old maltese. She has 2 others also, and I groom all 3 every 4 weeks. This time when they came in I could tell a huge difference in Abby. She and her sister Bailey look like twins. Usually I can only tell them apart by their collars. Abby has lost a lot of weight and her coat had not grown back. She literally looked like I had just groomed her. Today she was diagnosed with diabetes. The vet said she would need a high fiber diet and insulin shots 2x a day. He said he would probably put his dog down because of how confining it is for the dog and the family.

The owner is one of my best clients and called me for advice, however, I have no experience with diabetic dogs. I was just wondering if anyone had any input on this.

Thanks for any help.
I have no experience with it BUT if the family is willing to give the dog insulin, I don;t know why the vet suggest putting the dog to sleep. I have seen and read many stories of owners who treat there dogs and they are fine.

·
Registered
4,481 Posts