Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Super Moderator
1,454 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have you taught your dogs any non-standard commands, something that would make another dog cock its head in puzzlement?

My guys all learn "beep-beep". It means pretty much what you'd expect: I'm coming through, and I want the dogs to move out of my way. (A British acquaintance used to firmly call out "shift" for the same purpose.)

My guys also learn "this way". It means "I'm about to change direction, so pay attention and follow me." I realized recently that I never installed a rock solid look-at-me command in Pogo, because I was using "this way" for most situations where I wanted his attention.

·
Super Moderator
5,093 Posts
My husband recently asked what the "Ready" command means so he can start using it. I replied, "Huh?"

Apparently I say it to Peggy A LOT. And I probably said it to my last dog, too.

I studied myself for a few days and realize I use it exactly as it sounds: "Pay attention. A command is coming and I want you to look at me and ready yourself."

·
Premium Member
23,150 Posts
My poodles know tons of things that most pet owners would never teach, most are orders for open and utility obedience along with rally.

Reactions: Rose n Poos

·
Registered
407 Posts
Yeah mine know lots of extras too like hand signals for come, down and also stay when they are far from me or if it's noisy, watch out (for when I'm going to throw some straw or something), and "what have you got?" This last one is a cue for them to eat the thing really quickly before I get to them, lol

Sent from my VOG-L04 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
615 Posts
I teach my guys "shake" as in shake the water off after a bath. We go in the pet store and the clerk always asks him to "shake" to get a treat, I have to tell them that they need to ask him to "gimme paw".

·
Registered
7,253 Posts